Appetite for Wine

I enjoy wine. A lot. I am not a wine professional. I hold no certifications; I have no experience in the wine industry. I just enjoy tasting and drinking wine.

Most of the wines I drink are from California, mainly because that is where I live, so when I go wine tasting, that’s what I buy. Still, I do favor California, with a preference for Napa and Sonoma Cabernet Sauvignon (particularly those from the Rutherford and Alexander Valley AVA’s), Anderson Valley Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir, and Sierra Foothills Zinfandel, Syrah, Sangiovese, and Barbera. Nevertheless, I enjoy wines from other states (Oregon Pinot Noir; Washington Merlot), and all over the world. I have an affinity for Spain (Rioja), Italy (Tuscans, Montepulciano d’Abruzzo, Barolo), and France (Red Bordeaux, Loire Sauvignon Blanc). I enjoy finding affordable wines from under-rated regions.

Over the years I have tasted several hundred wines, and can only recall three that were so bad I could not drink them. (One of those was early in my wine journey and I now believe it was corked, but I didn’t know it at the time.) While I have favorites, and prefer big, bold reds, I haven’t met a grape – red or white – that I don’t enjoy in some measure.

I’m fairly frugal, with wines in the $10-18 range being my wheelhouse for daily drinkers, and $25-35 for special occasions. However, I have been known to splurge on very special wines. As for my sources, I am a member of Nakedwines.com, a crowdfunded winery. Members are known as Angels, and enjoy discounted prices. This helps bring higher-end wines that would retail for $40-60 down into my wheelhouse range. Our Angel motto is: Taste, Rate, Review, and Repeat. If this sounds like your kind of place, and you’d like more information, you can visit the website at https://us.nakedwines.com/, or leave a comment with your questions. (If you’re interested in trying it, click here for a $100 voucher, valid for purchases of $160 or more.) I also buy my wine from Trader Joe’s and Total Wine & More, plus the local wineries I visit.

If you like what you read, please follow me on Vivino, the wine rating app. You can find me here: http://www.vivino.com/users/kent-rey. My Vivino reviews also post to my Twitter feed at https://twitter.com/k1reynolds.

This is my first venture in the blogosphere. I really don’t know how often I will post, but there you have it. Thanks for visiting my site. I’d appreciate any comments.

If you’d like to reach me directly, or are interested in having me review your wine (samples gladly accepted), please send an e-mail to appetiteforwine (at) gmail (dot) com. Cheers!

– Kent Reynolds

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Appetite for Wine

  1. […] Appetite for Wine […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Rosé-review.com

Enjoying rosé from Australia and around the world. One bottle at a time....

Central Coast Wine Writer

Educational articles for wine lovers

okaywinenot?

Welcome to my blog about wine!

Got Legs

An International Wine Girl

Griffy on Wine

Saving the World One Glass at a Time

Wi.Nes

The diary of a winemaker; vineyards, wineries and kitchen

Oz's Travels

Watch Me Get Lost

Social Vignerons

The World of Wine's Got Talent

one foot in the grapes

Jane Clare, journalist, loves wine, likes gin too. More eyebrow than highbrow.

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

World and Wine Getaways

The World and Wine Getaways website provides clients with a central location to learn more about traveling to wine country areas worldwide.

Pairs With: Life

Meanderings on life, posing as a Wine Blog

The Swirling Dervish

Wine Stories, Food Pairings, and Life Adventures

Pairs With: Life

Musings on Life, Love and Wine

The Wine & Food Concierge

Sharing Wine + Food enjoyed in Vancouver and around the world

Winona the Wineosaur

Just your average Mesozoic girl, livin and drinking her way through the modern day world.

Wine Sipper

One Wine at a Time

Have Wine, Will Inspire

Passion, People, Wine

The Vigneron's Wife

The thrills and spillage of an Aussie girl living with a French winemaker

MyWine Channel

“Either give me more wine or leave me alone.”

ROCKIN RED BLOG

A Song in Every Glass

The Primlani Kitchen

Love is My 'Secret' Ingredient

